Dynamically compile & execute go code at runtime

Can I dynamically compile & execute the go code as a string at runtime ?

I am just a beginner to golang
Expecting somewhat like this.

// main.go
package main

import (
     goc "some/package/to/compile/go"
)

func main() {
    goc.Execute(`
      some go code ...
   `)
}

As a result, If I run the file

go run main.go

I am expecting to get the output of the code written as the string

Are there any packages to do this ?

Thanks In Advance

Hi @soubikbhuiwk007, welcome to the forum!

What would you need this for?

I am asking because compiling Go needs more than just a compiler package. The whole toolchain must be available, too, in order to download external modules etc. Also, the standard library has to be available for this to work.

Hence you could simply install Go on the target system and have your code call the compiler via the os/exec package.

Maybe have a look at how Go REPLs (Read-Eval-Print-Loop) do it. For example,

simply use an installed Go toolchain.

Thanks, @christophberger

Well, I was making a cli in which you could download the source code from a URL and execute it.

It was going fine, if the source had no input prompt. Now to make this possible, I was looking for the someway to do it and the only way came to my mind was to compile and execute the source.

Are there any other way to get this work done ?

What is the underlying problem that your cli shall solve?

Perhaps your cli could simply download and install the Go toolchain first and use it for compiling. Go can be “installed” as easily as downloading a tar.gz or zip file and unpacking it to somewhere.

Let’s say I have a following program from a URL

I expect the user to already have go installed

package main
import "fmt"
func main() {
    var name string
    fmt.Print("Enter Name: ")
    fmt.Scanln(&name)
    fmt.Printf("Hello %v", name)
}

I want the code above to execute as a part of my program (CLI-Name: urlgo)