Does Go has disadvantages compared to C/C++ when using in low-level system and embedded programming?

I’m comming from Python, I’m not experienced yet.

I found Go very good for the huge ecosystem it has, but when I searched for its using in low-level stuff and system programming I came across this comment:

I personally don't recommend it. I did a side project recently for programming a video camera, switched to C++ mid-flight.

The main sticking points:

ioctl functionality is half-baked. Some kernel functions in Unix-like operating systems will require you to pass a pointer across to ioctl. https://golang.org/x/sys does not support this, so you have to do it using the C ioctl.

IDE support for cgo is really bad for IntelliJ/Goland. It struggles really hard with typing to the point it almost just gives up.

You're fighting with the runtime for supremacy over voidptrs, and it's not easy to reason what code is going to pose a memory problem, and what won't.

You're best off just using C++, IMO.

Is the ioctl functionality is half-baked as he says?

will require you to pass a pointer across to ioctl. https://golang.org/x/sys does not support this

/\ This comment is of 3 years ago, but does The Go Programming Language already implemented this feature?

As a disclaimer: I don’t program embedded systems, so take what I say with a grain of salt, and as always: “It depends,” but:

If you’re essentially writing “glue code” between a bunch of C/C++ APIs, then I would not recommend using Go, but if you’re doing any kind of computational work in Python right now, the overhead of going between C/C++ and Go will essentially fade to nothing because of the performance increases you get from running native CPU code instead of interpreted Python bytecode.