Deserialization with reflection, good or bad?

Hi,

I have this bit of code which deserialises my structs in an automatic way, i did this because i find i was having a lot of samey code and wanted to simplify it by passing any struct with my slice and auto deserialise the slice to the provided struct.

This is what my code looks like:

val := reflect.ValueOf(packet).Elem()
startr := val.NumField()
var endr int
for i := 0; i < val.NumField(); i++ {
	endr = startr + int(message[i])

switch val.Field(i).Kind() {
	case reflect.String:
		val.Field(i).Set(reflect.ValueOf(string(message[startr:endr])))
		break
	case reflect.Uint32:
		val.Field(i).Set(reflect.ValueOf(binary.LittleEndian.Uint32(message[startr:endr])))
	default:
		log.Fatal("Unknown type in Deserializer, switch defaulted!")
	}
	startr = endr
}

Is there any downsides to doing this for server side code? I’m fairly new to networking and although this was quite a neat way to simplify my deserialisation, as in life, theres bound to be a catch to this that i am not aware of, so thought i would ask if there are any potential problems with this approach ?

Hi,

Your approach is sound. In fact, serialization is basically the only sane use case for reflection.

The Go standard library also use reflection for serialization: for example in JSON[1]

[1] https://golang.org/src/encoding/json/decode.go

I would be pretty careful here. A lot of the reflect functions (including Set()) can panic if the destination is not settable or the types of the source and destination are not compatible, which you definitely want to avoid if you want your code to be robust. Ensure you pre-check your destination fields with CanSet(), and wrap with a recover() function to protect against this (see https://blog.golang.org/defer-panic-and-recover).