Deploy a go backend to web-hoster?

Hi,
Sorry for the basic question. I’m a total noob. In go and any other language.
Can I deploy a go backend to a regular web-hoster? I mean, for example the hoster I use allows instances of various CMSs and obviously PHP code. I only see this because the PHP version is a very prominent setting in my webspace.
How about go? Can this run on a regular webserver?

Background: I’d like to start learning programming. For some reasons I’d prefer to do so in go. I’m not super interested in programming web stuff, but “unfortunately” the only actual usecase I currently have is a webpage with some DB functionality in the background. And since I found that learning programming without an actual problem in mind is futile, this would be me first project.

Thanks in advance!

If you have root access it should be possible. But I guess that you will have to use a VPS or similar.

Hmm, sure, but this sounds to me like I’d be installing an application on a virtual linux server, not really something on a web server. Am I mixing up things?

What host are you planning on using? This is an incredibly broad question, like “how do I built an app?”. I would hone in on what you’re trying to build, and where you want to deploy it, then start asking specific questions. Here are a few ideas though:

1 Like

Sorry, maybe I’m expressing myself not well enough (I’m not native English. I have good understanding of technology, but zero programming skills - yet) Let me try again:
My current provider supports PHP. I upload the website’s files, HTML and also .PHP files and the website just “runs”.
AFAIK this is also the case with a self-hosted Apache server. It just “understands” PHP.

Are there providers which support go in the same way?