ctx->Done not getting called for ContextWithTimeout

Hi,

I’m new to go and I’m trying to understand why the following code doesn’t work. I have a context with a timeout and I am doing a for loop with a select with <-ctx.Done() as the first case. I expected the function to exit when the timeout happens but it doesn’t. Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

package main

import (
	"context"
	"fmt"
	"time"
)

func main() {
	ctx, cancel := context.WithTimeout(context.TODO(), time.Second)
	defer cancel()
	for {
		select {
		case <-ctx.Done():
			fmt.Println("Ended at:", time.Now())
			return
		default:
			fmt.Println(".")
		}
	}
}

This also fails to exit

func main() {
	defer cancel()
	for ctx.Err() == nil {
		fmt.Println(".", ctx, ctx.Err())
	}
}

Theses programs does work for me.
I wouldn’t consider them correct as they are redlining the CPU at 100% while polling.

As your number of cores and OS vary polling might work better or worst.

Something like this works on the playground (instead of just my CPU):

package main

import (
	"context"
	"fmt"
	"time"
)

func main() {
	defer cancel()
	for {
		select {
		case <-ctx.Done():
			return
		default:
			fmt.Println(".")
			time.Sleep(time.Second / 4)
		}
	}
}
func main() {
	defer cancel()
	for ctx.Err() == nil {
		fmt.Println(".", ctx, ctx.Err())
                time.Sleep(time.Second/4)
	}
}

The people writing the scheduler tries to make it able to handle cases like this, but it seems like there is a bug and it doesn’t properly track timers or something.
Even when the scheduler is able to solve polling loops it is a huge performance cost so you shouldn’t write this code on purpose.

1 Like

The first one I wouldn’t consider correct too.
Since the default branch is always ready, it would be legal to choose it always:
A select … chooses one at random if multiple are ready

But for me as well, both terminate.
Which platform/version are you using?

It runs forever on the playground.