Creating a simple "read number from STDIN" demo

I’m creating a Go tutorial aimed at beginners, but it seems like you have to know a substantial portion of the language before you can interact with a user in a way that would be interesting to a non-programmer. You can’t use os.Args without an understanding of slices, for example. Reading a text file requires extensive knowledge of error handling. And so on.

I’m having trouble even finding examples of reading user input from standard input. Not something that belongs in a production program, I know, but it’s useful when teaching beginners. So here’s my attempt.

Code review would be appreciated, since I’m not a Go expert myself. Not looking to make this bullet proof, I just want to achieve a good code-length-to-stability ratio.

// pass_fail asks the user for a percentage grade, and outputs a
// message saying whether that grade is passing or failing.
package main

import (
	"bufio"
	"fmt"
	"log"
	"os"
	"strconv"
	"strings"
)

func main() {
	fmt.Print("Enter a grade: ")
	reader := bufio.NewReader(os.Stdin)
	input, err := reader.ReadString('\n')
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatal(err)
	}
	input = strings.TrimSpace(input)
	grade, err := strconv.ParseFloat(input, 64)
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatal(err)
	}
	fmt.Printf("A grade of %0.2f%% is", grade)
	if grade >= 60 {
		fmt.Println(" passing.")
	} else {
		fmt.Println(" failing!")
	}
}

Thanks in advance!

Since you’re making an example of reading user input from stdin, why not just use fmt.Scanf? It’s true that there are a few concepts you haven’t explained yet in your guide, but I think it’s far better to quickly explain pointers or dismiss them for a later stage rather than having then to explain how bufio and strconv work.

package main

import (
	"fmt"
	"log"
)

func main() {
	fmt.Print("Enter a grade: ")
	var grade int // or grade := 0
	_, err := fmt.Scanf("%d", &grade) // or %f and change grade to float64
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatal(err)
	}