Could you please help me with some career advice as been Junior Web Dev?

Hi all,

I am a front-end developer with my main skills in the javascript ecosystem and I had some small experience (on college) with C# and .Net .

I have been working as a web dev only for about 5 months now, and I confess that I am struggling to take some decisions about my future main stack (back-end).

I read a lot of information about go, watched some tutorials online and played with it, doing some simple projects.

The syntax is really cool, and every single information that I found about it, the performance and so on make me like it even more.

So far I think I am having a great experience and I am loving every aspect of it.

My main concerns right now would be related to my lack of experience as web developer, because I am thinking about to put all my efforts into learning Go and make it my main skill for the future.

Would be possible for me as Junior Developer be hired as Go developer having just about 1, 1.5 years (thinking forward) of dev experience?

It seems that lots of seniors devs are going to Go, as the most of you did and it makes me be worried about it. because at the moment there are not many jobs here in the UK as we have in different stacks such c# and so on.

I had a chat with some workmates about it and they didn’t think it is a good idea now.

I think when we like what we do is always better, but I will still be having to pay my bills at the end of the month, right?

Please give me some advice on that, because I am really looking forward to learning more Go, I just would like to make sure I am doing at the right time.

Thank you

Jean Rauwers

It is always the right time to learn a new programming language, especially one that uses different concepts than those you already know. So if your main language currently is JavaScript, Go is a good choice to broaden your knowledge. Especially the Go way to do concurrency is something every programmer should learn about.