Converting vendor mode to module

Hi,

I am a newbie to Go. I clone a Go code base - they use vendor to store their dependencies. I added a custom package to the vendor folder, but when I do go build mod=vendor i get cannot find module providing package <package which is present in vendor dir> .

Also, It’s been terrible manually copying packages from $GOPATH/pkg/mod to this vendor directory. It’s never-ending. How can I convert this “vendor” mode to module mode and include the custom package I wrote earlier? How can I finally build this?

I know this is a basic question, but GoLang’s building/packaging has been so convoluted, that I am in the process of giving up! Please help!
Thanks!

2 Likes

Welcome to Golang Bridge! :rocket::fireworks:

Unfortunately, this is not a simple question but don’t worry about it.

If you’re using module, you should not use vendor anymore. It confuses everyone. Hence, the goal is to go build without the mod=vendor.

Depending on urgency, I propose 2 ways.

Short Term Mitigation

vendor has 1 main effect on overall repository that requires consideration: it influences the local import across the source codes. E.g.:

1. Instead of importing the package like import "github.com/XYZ/abc", placing that package in vendor directory vendor/abc allows the source codes to import package like import "abc".

Hence, we need to workaround it. Fortunately, go.mod has a replace clause for you to replace any import clause in your source codes to a local directory. Based on the example above,

replace (
	abc => ./vendor/abc
)

Once you replace all the vendor dependencies accordingly, test run again without the mod=vendor argument. If everything works fine, you’re good to go for now.

Long Term Migration