Array and Slice behaviors with len() and cap()

Hey Good Gophers…
I’m just a 5 days newbie at Golang (3rd year as pythonista).

I was at this weird behavior (as I consider it) of array and slices, related to len() and cap() (especially cap()), the different use and behavior of [ : ] and [ : : ].

Just asking…, is this supposed to be a good thing I’ll later come to appreciate or …despise ?

Thanks.
Good to be here.

Hi, Oluwatobi, and welcome to the forum!

It would be helpful if you could describe what the weird behavior is! Do you have any example code where you could demonstrate what you expected vs. what actually happened?

2 Likes

Thanks for the response. I’ve gotten the whole idea around it. It just feels weird, what am asking is if the community is actually ok with it or something everyone wants to actually change too?.

I feel like the behavior of [ : : ] on a slice should be the default. Just saying, i just don’t feel safe with it. Hopefully, i get used to it without scars :joy:.

I’m still not sure what it is about slices that feels weird to you, but while they’re different from, e.g., lists in Python or List<T> in C#, etc., they seem intuitive to me, but I’ve been using them for years :smile:.

1 Like

That’s extremely unlikely since this (the 3-index slicing) has been in Go for nearly 10 years. If everyone wanted it changed, then either the language would have changed (requiring a v2) or it would have died long ago. You still haven’t clarified what you don’t like. If modifying the capacity were the default, then there would be much more memory allocation churn, copying, and GC. FWIW, in my eight years of coding primarily in Go, I have almost never used the 3-index slicing. Almost all my operations that would change the capacity use append. Usually I specify the necessary capacity in make.

1 Like

Ok, the weird thing is this.

var arrOne [4]int = make([4]int, 4) // i.e len() is 4 and cap() is 4 int{0,0,0,0}

arrTwo := arrOne[:2]. // int{0,0}