Advice wanted on creating a portfolio for an entry level golang job

Hi all,

This is my first post on the forum. I’ve been learning golang for a few months and wanted to see if it was going to stick before participating in the forum. It has, and so here I am!

This question is mainly directed at past and present hirers & firers, but all comments welcome. My education is in business, I got into programming a few years ago to help bootstrap some websites for hobby projects, I liked coding a lot better than my job and have been transitioning into web development as a main source of income.

I’ve been working with PHP and nodeJS mostly, golang makes a lot more sense to me as a choice for web development in part for performance reasons but mostly for clarity and TDD. I’d like to pursue it further and perhaps take an onsite or remote position.

Which leads me to my problem. I don’t have a CS degree behind me and am not going to get one. As I see it to demonstrate what I can do to a potential employer I would need a strong portfolio. As someone who hasn’t worked in an IT office, I’d like to know if there’s any specific type of portfolio items I should focus on if I wanted to go that route, as well as any other tips you may have.

Right now I have exactly nothing so there is some way to go, but I’d at least like to be going in the right direction.

3 Likes

Write code, lots of code. Utilities for personal needs, demo websites, toys, sets of challenges from programming puzzle website, contests, whatever. Put it somewhere like Github. When I was hiring programmers we tried to figure out whether they could program - in any language. Languages can be fairly easily learnt, if the brain is wired / trained to program.

7 Likes

Another good idea is to contribute to some existing open source projects. This shows that you know enough about them to get changes accepted.

3 Likes

Brilliantly and succinctly worded.

Thanks for taking the time to read and reply.

David,