Absolute newbie -- how to size an array?

Hello All!

I’m just starting to read into the Go programming language, as I wanted to try a bit of programming. I first looked at Python, but Go caught my eye, and it looked like a nice starting point. Tidy, capable, and quick enough for my purposes.

Allright, a question then…what I want to achieve (after I’m done fiddling with the examples) is to size an array based on the amount of lines in a .csv file. AFAIK you can only set the initial size of an array, and I guess it’s a bit overkill to set the size to the maximum amount of memory (it would make unnecessary resource reservations that way, right?), and then work with slices to use just a little bit of that space.

So, can someone show me an example how to check the amount of lines in a certain file, and use that information to size the array (as the information in those lines would be ‘loaded’ into the array)? I’m planning on filling that array with info from file A, then read file B line by line, and then using the information in the array to let the program categorize each line in file B it encounters.

Regards,

Rene.

Rene,

the size of an array has to be known at compile time.
so you can’t do what you want with an array.

a better way to tackle this is to use an empty slice and then append data to that slice when reading lines off file A.

var data []float64
for i := 0; i < 10; i++ {
    data = append(data, float64(i))
}

hth,
-s

1 Like

Hi Sebastien,

Thanks for your response. So the number 10 in the ‘for…’ line would be set to the amount of lines in the file I’m trying to ‘load’ into the array, right?

Out of curiosity: AFAIK slices are built on top (or are basically a viewport) of an array, so I would have to define an array beforehand, but that doesn’t seem to be the case then? Also, setting the ‘size’ of the slice to ‘float64’, wouldn’t that reserve an enormous amount of (mostly unused) space or resources?