Why do we need a gopath?

I don’t understand why do we need a gopath ?
That’s extremely nervous for me…
I can’t work on Golang project without to be in this gopath…

Is there any reason why you want your project to not be in GOPATH?

You can switch to vgo. It manages dependencies without GOPATH.

https://research.swtch.com/vgo

Thx I’ll take a look at it :wink:

I have the same repo for the angular app and the server and I don’t want to put angular files in my gopath …

@dimensi0n It took me a little bit, as a new gopher, to really get and appreciate the GOPATH. Now that I’ve been working with it for a few years, I find it to absolutely be one of the best features of the language.

It gives me a consistent location for storing my source code, as well as for finding the source code I depend on. Because I use GitHub, I know for a fact that all of my Go code will be under $GOPATH/src/github.com/theckman. If I am forking a project to make some changes to it I can create the fork in my GOPATH, using the original name, and can then use it from my project with my modifications. It also gives me a prescriptive location to put code that I contribute to.

It’s also the path where dependencies are found, and because we use the canonical name for our imports (github.com/theckman/example), your GOPATH needs to ensure your code is in that location ($GOPATH/src/github.com/theckman/example). I think this makes things super consistent and easier to reason about, in comparison to other languages that largely rely on relative imports. This also means that if you want to bundle JavaScript, or other artifacts in the repo, they need to live in the same location. You could develop the frontend UI and backend API in separate repos.