When does object creation fail?

I am trying to implement SSO with an open source product, but I keep getting an error that is blocking me. I was wondering if anyone could tell me if it is something in the GO language that I need to accommodate for (I have no experience in the language)
I have the above fields passing in the token, and then the object is as below. The object seems to be empty every time I test the SSO functionality. Does every field need to be present for the object to be created correctly?

type User struct {
	ExternalID     string                 `json:"sub"`
	Name           string                 `json:"name"`
	Email          string                 `json:"email"`
	EmailVerified  bool                   `json:"email_verified"`
	UserInfoClaims map[string]interface{} `json:"user_info_claims"`
}

Any advice or explanation is very welcome

It’s hard to tell without knowing exactly what you are doing. Can you post a small example code?

The Go JSON decoder will ignore fields in a JSON object that have no corresponding field in your target struct. It also leaves struct fields initialized to the zero value if they do not exist in the JSON object. From the example data and structcode you posted, the first four fields of your struct ought to be populated.

As @mje said, it’s always better to show what you tried so far.

The open source product I am using is Chirpstack Application Server. I am attempting to get OIDC to work with an Azure provider.
This is the unmarshalling method in oidc.go

The implementation of OIDC login

// OpenIDConnectLogin performs an OpenID Connect login.
func (a *InternalAPI) OpenIDConnectLogin(ctx context.Context, req *pb.OpenIDConnectLoginRequest) (*pb.OpenIDConnectLoginResponse, error) {
	oidcUser, err := oidc.GetUser(ctx, req.Code, req.State)
	if err != nil {
		return nil, helpers.ErrToRPCError(err)
	}

if !oidcUser.EmailVerified {