Starting help for a newbie

I’m a newbie here. I write all my apps in AutoHotkey, but often I need smaller tools (Windows only) that need to be written in another language because AHK executables are too big (at least 500 kB). With the programming languages I’ve tried so far, I’ve had the big problem of missing Unicode support. So now I ended up here mainly because of the information that Go offers native Unicode support.

Could a friendly expert here show me if Go would be something for me? One tool I would need right now, for example, would be a small launcher program that would have to do the following, among other things:

• Command line arguments, specified when starting the launcher, are to be determined:
    Launcher.exe “Arg 1” “Arg 2” …
  • The content of a binary file is to be read in as a byte string.
  • An executable is to be started with the previously determined CL arguments.
  • Note: The arguments and the name of the executables can contain Unicode characters!

My question: Is this sufficiently easy to do in Go even for a newbie? Would such a tool be smaller than 50 kB? Can someone here sketch a short demo code for such a launcher that I could start with?

Sincerely,
Z.

PS: I have already installed Go and successfully experimented with hello.go… :wink:

Hi. If size is an issue will go be no option for you. A compiled executable will have a size in megabytes.

If you’re only in need of running on Windows maybe it would be better to learn powershell. It been build into all the latest versions of Windows and you can call any system functions. The programs will just be the size of the script.

1 Like

Megabytes––really???

Powershell: In need an executable…

Yes, go links statically everything, especially its runtime (garbage collector, standard lib, etc).

A simple hello world produces a 1.9 MB executable, by applying strip I can get rid of ~0.6 MB and it shrinks to 1.3.