Review basic restful API

Good morning,

I’m new to Go and wrote a basic restful API but I’m not quite sure if the Go code is ok like this or if I made some bigger mistakes.

Would it be possible for someone to review the code (it isn’t a lot yet)?

All the code is in the following repository

Thanks in advance

There are some few things I recognized (Even not exactly related to Go but in general):

• I would recommend a logger with the opportunity to write to different destinations
  • I would remove the code field from the Error struct and rather use an array of strings for the messages.
  • You could add a service layer between controllers and DB stuff
  • What are the query function in this postgres package for? There is no real abstraction :slight_smile:
  • You just suppress errors that could pop up on marshalling to json - What if it fails?

btw: It seems that you are two people :slight_smile: Sometimes you are using early return sometimes long if-else’s

First of all thanks for looking over it.

Currently the logger is really just a basis and is constantly expanded. I wanted to add that possibility and the possibility to show the filename (maybe also the path) in the future so debugging gets easier.

What would be the benefit of this? Isn’t it usually only one error that gets returned to the client? Or could there be more?

Do you have an example on how I could achieve this? I’m not quite happy with the controllers yet because I already know that most of them will be structured the same. I wanted to add a _default package with default methods for GET, POST, etc. and make the controllers use that if they don’t need special functionality.

The query functions are currently being used to fetch/insert data from the database. I did not want to return a sql.Rows so I tried to handle everything in the package. Unfortunately I have no idea how I could improve that package.