Problem with Map Key Validation

Hi,

I am fairly new to go and just work on my first project, which has gotten along quite well so far. However, I have a strange problem now with validation of map keys. I am trying to create a simple flash card app, that asks for a card and then for a definition. If either the card or the definition exist already, it should throw an error and let the user enter the term again. This is my code (I have cut unnecessary cases out):

package main

import (
	"bufio"
	"fmt"
	"os"
)

func main() {

fmt.Println("Flash Cards v. 1.0")

var choice string
	var card string
	var definition string
	cards := make(map[string]string)

for {
		fmt.Println("Input the desired action (add, remove, import, export, ask, exit):")
		fmt.Scan(&choice)

switch choice {
		case "add":
			scanner := bufio.NewScanner(os.Stdin)
			scanner.Scan()
			for {
				fmt.Println("The card: ")
				scanner.Scan()
				card = scanner.Text()
				if _, ok := cards[card]; ok {
					fmt.Printf("The card %s already exists. Try again:\n", card)
					scanner.Scan()
					card = scanner.Text()
				}
				fmt.Println("The definition for the card:")
				scanner := bufio.NewScanner(os.Stdin)
				scanner.Scan()
				definition = scanner.Text()
				if _, ok := cards[definition]; ok {
					fmt.Printf("The definition %s already exists. Try again:\n", definition)
					scanner.Scan()
					definition = scanner.Text()
				}
				cards[card] = definition
				fmt.Printf("The pair %q:%q has been added\n", card, definition)
				break
			}
		case "remove":
		case "import":
		case "export":
		case "ask":
		case "exit":
		default:
			fmt.Println("Error. Please try again!")
		}
	}
}