Machine learning in Go - future?

Hi all. As a data scientist, I am interested in machine learning. I see that there are a few ML packages in Go, but they do not seem to be actively developed, some even do not seem to be maintained. Not that long ago, Tensorflow supported Go, but not anymore. Hence, I am wondering whether Go has any chances to start being an important player in the ML community, and I am afraid it does not seem so for the moment. Does anyone here has more knowledge about this and can share their thoughts? I’d appreciate it.

Does this help you?

Thanks a lot, Sean. But frankly, this post does not help. The web is full of such posts, but they are even misleading. They miss the important side of the coin, the one I mentioned - they describe those packages as great options, but they miss what I wrote, that they are not active, or not maintained anymore, or their development is very slow given what we see in the machine learning community, for instance in Python. This is based on those packages that I formulated my main thought that machine learning in Go does not look promising.

Not expert in ML but in the Tensorflow’s website you can find a link to the Go binding.

Isn’t it working?

Thanks, Massimo. As I wrote, TensorFlow supported go bindings, but it does not so anymore. Look here: https://www.tensorflow.org/api_docs/. You will see there something sad (at least for me):
So, I suppose the binding work, but is not maintained anymore, and so the future is unclear.

I suppose you have already looked at Gorgonia.

The author/creator of Gorgonia @chewxy has written a couple of books on Machine Learning using Go. Perhaps he can provide more insights here.