Improving the community by highlighting testing

@dfc asked me on twitter what kind of blog posts on testing I’d like to see on twitter. Personally, everything. How to get started, what the value is, and such. I’d love to hear from the rest of you if there’s additional topics on this. I’m new to testing, but have been diving into it for the past two weeks or so.

Anyone else have any other suggestions for him?

Thanks.

1 Like

As I mentioned on twitter “everything” isn’t very actionable. If you can come up with a list, preferably in the user story form of “As an ___ how do I ___ ?”, then I can find or write that documentation.

1 Like

I’d be really interested to see some tutorials or blog posts on how to test or test around methods that have no return values, testing struct components, and testing interfaces.

These are problems I’ve been having myself lately and the answers I’m finding are usually that I should be writing code such that I always produce return values. This makes sense in the first case, but doesn’t really cover the latter two. And either way it would be nice to get some guidance on best practices regarding extraneous return values.

Thanks so much for opening this topic!

EDIT: I should clarify that I mean explicit return value. My specific case is unit-testing writes to a database. I could add “RETURNING id” to every query I have and then check that, but I am wondering if there is a more elegant way.

1 Like

@brittany, when talking to databases, wouldn’t you at the very least, have errors returning from it?

@dfc I know “mocking” bit me recently. mgo is such a hard package to mock and the mocking solutions out there required someone to litter up their code with annotations and such that I didn’t care for.