Closure with Goroutine

I am a newbie in GoLang bringing a lot of baggage from other languages. With the code below things run correctly and count is 5. But if i use go Even(arr) count becomes 0. I thought Even(arr) will close over count and still be accessible while being processed in the goroutine (closure) and mutate count to 5.

What am i understanding wrongly?

var count = 0

func Even(arr []int) {
	for _, item := range arr {
		if item%2 == 0 {
			count++
		}
	}
}

func main() {
	arr := makeRange(1, 100000)
	Even(arr)
	fmt.Println(count)
}

Hi, @laiboonh,

Firstly, your Even function isn’t closing over count. count is a global variable that both main and Even have access to.

Secondly, though I understand that you know other languages and therefore I suspect you’re just trying to learn how to do concurrency in Go, here’s how I’d implement your program:

I think the right way to do this is to change Even so that instead of receiving a slice and updating the global count variable, you should change it to this:

func Even(arr []int) int {
	count := 0
	for _, item := range arr {
		if item%2 == 0 {
			count++
		}
	}
	return count
}

And then you use it from main like this:

func main() {
	count := Even(arr)
	fmt.Println(count)
}

Without this change, if you had another goroutine running that was also counting the number of even values with your Even function, they’d both be sharing that same count and both return the wrong value. Writing the function this new way makes it safe to use concurrently and sets us up for a slightly different example that I’d like to use to demonstrate the motivation for using a goroutine: