Casting and ambiguous return type from functions

Hello I am new in Golang and need some help, am a Java programmer

Look at this line of code

1) f := goutil.Try(os.Open("file")).(io.Reader)

My util Try manages the error cases etc etc, then return an interface and cast for f.

If I use simply, as taught on the documentation, the following code

2) f := os.Open("file")

f in this case is a File !
So Why above I have to convert in io.Reader ? That is ok and work fine !

In other word why these two piece of code, work anyway !

f := goutil.Try(os.Open("file")).(io.Reader)

AND

f := os.Open("file")
defer f.Close()

my Try function is for now simply

func Try(res interface{}, err error) interface{}{

if err != nil {
		panic(err)
		os.Exit(-1)
	}

return res
}

Thank you in adavnced

Hi @7ab10_7ab10 , welcome to the forum.

First, a cautionary advice. Don’t try to shoehorn Java idioms into Go. Go uses explicit error handling for a reason. If you roll your own Java-style try-catch solution, you make your code harder to read for other Gophers.

Regarding your question, the io.Reader interface and all related io interfaces are a very convenient way to abstract away the fact that f is a file.

Consider you have a function that reads from a file, and you want to use that function to read from a string or a network connection instead, bad luck.

However, if that function reads from an io.Reader, you can use this function for reading files, strings, network connections, buffers, or anything that implements the io.Reader interface.

1 Like

Hello @christophberger
thank you for your quick answer.

Well,
I know about the error handling, but I use it only for simple system programming scripts with bash where I am not handling errors, if it passes ok otherwise exit and goodbye…

Anyway
Yes, I also understand the fact of the Reader, as for the Writer, as in Java and in fact sometimes in Java it is boring…